Book of Mottoes…

This year I am teaching with more influence from the Charlotte Mason-style and I will have the boys do a ‘Book of Mottoes’; writing out one favorite quote or bible verse or phrase from a book each day.  I’m beginning to collect and make a list of some for them to use.  One resource I came upon was the SCM Forum and  I’m also searching out quotes from various presidents and authors.  To have the ability of these wordsmiths would be amazing.  I am always so touched by one-liners that grab a hold of my heart and mind; that make me think or see things in another light.  Words are so important to me.  I tend to get wrapped up in the lyrics of songs easily.  I buy new CDs (yes, I still purchase actual CDs) and I listen to them over and over again until I’ve memorized every song.  When certain moments in time bring a line to my mind, it gets stuck there until I can sing the whole thing through.  Unfortunately, for my hubby, I get one line/verse/chorus stuck in my head and will bust out with it full force regardless of where we are.  He loves that, don’t let him tell you differently.

I want to copy some quotes on here to keep a record and, hopefully, you’ll add some to the list.

 

This first one is our “school” motto:

“Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.” – William Butler Yeats

“Fate rarely calls upon us at a moment of our choosing.” – This one I’ve loved since hearing Optimus Prime say it in Transformers.  After researching, because I was sure a former president or some great leader must have said it first, I found out that Obi-wan said it to Aniken in Star Wars.  If you know more, please share.

“Do small things with great love.” – Mother Teresa

Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. – Ephesians 6:1

“Success is going from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm” – Abraham Lincoln

“It is not strange . . . to mistake change for progress.” – Millard Fillmore

“Do I not destroy my enemies when I make them my friends?” – Abraham Lincoln

“The only thing we have to fear is fear itself.” – Franklin Delano Roosevelt

“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.” – C.S. Lewis

“But courage, child: we are all between the paws of the true Aslan.” – C.S. Lewis, The Last Battle

Well, this is a start.  I’m trying to make them meaningful, but not too long in length.  I would love to hear what some of your favorite quotes are, even if not directed at children.

One thought on “Book of Mottoes…

  1. sweetprairierose July 27, 2012 at 12:15 pm Reply

    My mother-in-law wanted to add The Golden Rule: “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

Leave a Reply

