Before and After…

I’ve been very busy with moving in, getting set up for our school year, and just general tiredness, so I haven’t been posting as regularly.  That doesn’t mean that I don’t have anything to share!  Here are a couple of things I’ve “worked” on.  You can’t really count spray painting as work though.

As you may know, I tend to dive in when it comes to painting.  I just can’t wait to see how something is gonna look.  Both of these projects began as brass, but brass doesn’t really do it for me (although, I must admit, it is growing on me slightly in certain decors).  This first object began it’s life in my mother-in-laws home.  I think it was hung on the wall and held candles or something.  I’m not really sure.  I didn’t take a before pic.  Yeah, yeah, I know.

Sorry for the poor picture quality, I used my cell phone.  Since we moved, my computer doesn’t recognize my camera.

I turned it into a spice rack to hold my most used spices.

Not too bad, huh?

The next project was a lamp I bought at Goodwill.  It was brass also, but the finish was not good.

I was still debating on the lampshade, but have since removed the plastic.  And yet…I’m still debating.  I think I will go get the smaller one and test it out on there as well.  Ross is the best place to buy lampshades and such.  This one is pretty large and I only paid $7.99 for it.  The next smaller one is $5.99.  The lamp was $5.  Not too bad for a new lamp.

I have another before-and-after to come soon.

Leave a Reply

