Finally fireside…


“Finally fireside”- that is what keeps popping into my head when I think about how much I love our new home.  We have just moved ourselves right in, I tell ya.  It FEELS like I’m home.  You know the feeling…way down in your insides where you get all warm and fuzzy and gain 10 lbs and start wearing yoga pants all day?  Exactly like that.

I thought I’d share some pictures of our new abode with you.  Oh, and if Idosometi weirdlike leaveout spaces orletters, I’m pretty sure a certain little one spilled something on the keyboard so I have to type really hard.

IMG_7401 copy

Yeah, you.

So onto the house.  We love the peace and quiet and are glad to have some space for the kiddos.  And for me too, if I’m being honest.  I loved our neighbors in Colorado, but there’s something to be said about not having to put your dog on a leash every time she needs to go out or not being able to sit on your front porch because your neighbors are outside smoking and your asphyxiating on the smoke.  I have a dedicated 1/4-1/2 acre available for my garden and chicken coop.  The boys can shoot their BB guns (and leave widows in tact).  Hubby can cut down trees and build stuff like a tree fort for the kids.

The house itself was in great condition.  The inside left a lot of room for adding our personality.  It doesn’t need updating necessarily, but it was pretty plain.

IMG_7725

IMG_7723 copy

Here’s a picture of the foyer when we were looking at the house:

3House - foyer

Here’s a picture of it in its current state:

IMG_7761 copy

IMG_7763 copy copy

Still a work in progress.  I just used things we had around the house and painted.  I really like the paint color – Merino Wool by Behr.  The trim is BM Dove White.  I made the sign that is hanging above the doorway.  I also painted the inside of our front door a very dark grey.  The insides of our exterior doors always get so darn dirty.  We will eventually replace the flooring to hardwoods, but that will have to wait a little while.

Oh, and we spray painted the light fixture Oil Rubbed Bronze.  That was such an inexpensive fix.  I saw that someone had sprayed their doorknobs as well, but I’m not convinced that would hold up in our house.  If you look closely at the front door knob in the last picture, you will see the teeth marks from our dog.  She was trying to get back IN.  Maybe she’s not enjoying her freedom as much as I am.

More pictures of other rooms to come.  I’ve had some success with selling a few items on Craigslist, so our bedroom project may be complete soon.  Can’t wait to share that with you!

See you on the flip side!

Julie

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

