The Geranium Dress lured me in…

Have you seen the Geranium Dress over at Made By Rae?  I was looking for a pattern with pockets because my little one LOVES the pockets.  I had heard about this dress by many a sewing blogger, so I dove in and bought the pattern.

Let me just say Rae does not disappoint!  The pattern is super easy to follow and the fact that I only had to print out the pages with the sizes that I needed…perfect.

IMG_8046

For my little one, I went with the size 3 bodice and size 2 skirt.  I used a fancier fabric because the dress is for my cousin’s wedding at the end of the month.  The pattern calls for the bodice to be lined, but because of the occasion,  I lined the skirt as well.  I am in the process of adding a ruffle to the lining to make the dress a little fuller.

I decided to make a little belt that Baby A can wear with it.  I just made a simple one using grosgrain ribbon and a snap.

IMG_8051

IMG_8052

I used covered buttons and snaps for the back closure.  My sewing machine is getting serviced right now, so I had to sew the belt by hand.  I haven’t done anything by hand in so long and I could tell that I needed to practice more.

IMG_8053

Here’s a picture of the lining with the ruffle pinned into place.  I discovered that I don’t really care for working with silky fabrics.  It’s pretty and it feels nice, but what a pain!

IMG_8048

Julie

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “The Geranium Dress lured me in…

  1. […] Cousin’s wedding/Easter dress with The Audrey Cape (still trying to figure out the pattern.  My cousin is getting married Easter weekend so I thought I could get a two-for-one.) – Here’s what I ended up making […]

  2. Rae March 1, 2013 at 4:02 pm Reply

    So sweet!! I love it!!!

    • sweetprairierose March 1, 2013 at 8:08 pm Reply

      Thank you! What a great pattern. There will be many more ‘Geraniums’ in my daughter’s future.

  3. sunshineonmybrain March 1, 2013 at 7:47 pm Reply

    That’s adorable!

  4. Donna September 22, 2013 at 5:31 pm Reply

    I love your version of this dress. But most of all you have taught me something new. I always accepted tulle as the only way to “poof” a dress. Can you give me some more advise on how to make this work.

    • sweetprairierose September 23, 2013 at 10:08 am Reply

      Thanks, Donna! Well, I’m no professional by any means, but we were going to a wedding in Florida and I didn’t want the tulle to be itchy when she got sweaty. Plus, I just wanted to use what I had on hand.

      I made a skirt out of the lining fabric just a little bit smaller than the dress fabric. I didn’t want it to bunch too much at the waist. To make it poof, I figured out how tall I wanted the ruffle to be and then doubled it over, also making it long enough that I could gather it slightly. Then, because it seemed like a good idea, I sewed the ruffle on upside down so that it would poof even more. Because of lack of time, I only did the one ruffle, but would have liked to do more to make it really stand out.

      Hope this helps! I was winging it as I went along and I’m sure there may be an easier way, but this worked for us.

Leave a Reply

